Enrapture Encode Totem Hair Styler Review

The posts up until now have all been based on fashion, and while I do love clothes, I feel I should mix it up a bit and talk about something else. So, today I give you my review on “The Enrapture Encode Totem Hair Styler” or as I will refer to it, hair curlers.

So If you do follow me on Instagram, you’ll notice that more often than not my hair is straight and down, or tied up in some fashion. I’ve always had hair which is straight, thin and lacks any sort of volume. I think the first time I ever tried to curl my hair was when I was 12 maybe, one of those things you do at a friend’s house. I don’t remember much but what I do remember was the perfect curl, the most wonderful ringlet I had ever seen in my hair. For ten minutes. Even with hair spray, my hair was determined that it was only ever going to be straight so I tended to avoid bothering to curl or style my hair as I knew the end result would just be straight hair, messy from an attempted style or brushed. I hope this paints the picture of how my hair is, I’ve tried all sorts to give it volume, and even back combing doesn’t last long, turns into a knot if anything. But one day a few years ago I found this wonderful thing on offer and decided to give it a shot:

amazon-curlers-1

I’m not certain which retailers I actually bought this from but this exact one is available at Amazon for £28.79 (reduced from £60, and with free delivery), however you may find the same product at different stores and websites.

The actual items that are in the box (which magnetically closes too), are:

  • The plug in hair curlers
  • A heat resistant pouch that zips close
  • A style guide/How to use

The curlers has an easy on-off switch that lights up when in use, an attached stand for keeping it held up while heating up and a titanium based barrel.

The barrel is separated into three zones, and has three different heat settings,( 1, 2 and 3), which means that there is a potential of 27 different looks. These numbers correspond to the numbers on the handle that control the temperature for each barrel. Setting number 1 is a fairly loose curl, 2 a normal curl and 3 being a tight ringlet; meaning the higher the number, the hotter the barrel is. As previously said, the 3 barrels can all be different settings, such as a 1-1-1 or 1-2-2, or 1-2-3, or my personal favourite, 3-3-3. So it’s incredibly easy to mess around with different looks and see which works.

The reason I go for a 3-3-3 setting to get full ringlets is because my hair is a straight flat mess most of the time, and because of how quickly it becomes straight again, I like to keep the curl as tight as possible for as long as I can.

You can see the progression of my hair when using this on a 3-3-3 setting (sorry for my face in these). I tend to curl my hair as styled in the photo as I find it easier to manage as I go through it and section each bit to curl as opposed to having it all down at once. You can see how straight my hair is in the first photo and the end result. The second photo shows the clear difference between curled and my straight hair, and the four shows my hair out of the hairband but not yet sorted into place. This entire process took about 15 minutes tops; the curlers heated up within 2 minutes easily.

Regarding how long it actually lasted, I didn’t use hairspray while doing this because I wanted to see just how long my hair lasted in curls. Though I did use my fingers in the curls to maximise the volume a bit, the curls and volume lasted about 3 hours as it first looked styled, 7 hours in and there were curls amongst the waves, and by 12 hours it was definitely more wavy than anything. So for a night out and with hair spray I think it would have worked wonderfully. I really like these curlers and frankly I’m so glad I ended up buying them because I do feel they give me overall look an extra pop, I really do recommend them. Hopefully, while I haven’t spoken about them too much, I feel the pictures speak more than I could, and maybe you agree.

Looking at me now compared to years ago, I didn’t think I’ve ever try curling my hair after my first useless experience, and I think a lot of the time people have one bad experience and they refuse to do it again even if the circumstances are different. Now, think how often you say “Oh I did that once but I hated it/it didn’t work out/I wasn’t the biggest fan etc”, now in some cases it’s perfectly acceptable to say this. For example, something really traumatic might have happened that has put you off doing something or trying it again, that’s okay; you have a fear and that’s okay. This seems like a mixed message slightly but what I’m trying to say, albeit maybe badly, is just because something bad happened once shouldn’t stop you from trying again. I understand how hard things can be for people; anxiety about doing something can cripple anyone. I struggle at times, it’s easier to admit online than out loud, but it’s true, and lately I haven’t been great. Prior to the weekend, I panicked about having to go outside and interact with people (A really simple thing for most people), I had so many what if’s going on in my head which didn’t help. But at the weekend, I almost felt back to normal, I had friends and family to be with, so while there were moments of feeling uncomfortable, I was happy to be with those people and make those memories. Sometimes it’s difficult to get past your thoughts and feelings towards something, but sometimes that difficulty can be worth it. Give things another go, step out of your comfort zone, be amazed at what you can do when you make yourself commit to something.

About curvylegion

Plus sized, anime-loving, xbox-gaming, psychology graduate, a.k.a me. Started the blog "Curvy Legion" to encourage more self love while having fun with fashion and such. New to it all, I'm focusing on having fun with it and hopefully, helping others do the same.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

